What Is Lockdown Mode on iOS 16 and When Should You Use It?

Lockdown Mode is a new feature on iPhones and iPads running iOS 16 and iPadOS 16. This feature is a response to the Pegasus adware, produced it achievable for hackers to accessibility your details on Apple equipment, resulting in a lawsuit from Apple.

The use of spyware and other highly sophisticated cyber attacks like this aren’t prevalent by any means. Yet, Apple still felt it was needed to acquire a aspect that safeguards your information from a qualified threat to your privacy like this. If you are curious about how Lockdown Manner works, or if you are going to at any time want to use it, this post is for you.

What Does Lockdown Manner Do?

Lockdown Method tightens security on your Iphone to block any malware or spyware and safeguard your private facts. The downside is that when you activate Lockdown Method, many capabilities on your Iphone will not be available any longer.

Very first off, a lot of concept attachments, like pics and movies, will get blocked. FaceTime phone calls from folks you haven’t contacted before are also blocked, as are Shared Albums in the Images application. Lockdown Method also disables some web browsing apps.


When you activate Lockdown Manner, you also will not be equipped to use any wired equipment or add-ons whilst your Iphone is locked. Configuration profiles for faculty or get the job done places are also blocked.

All of this is important to fully guard your own info from an highly developed, and focused, cyber attack.

Who Will Will need to Use Lockdown Manner?

According to Apple, extremely couple persons will ever will need to use Lockdown Method. You really should only activate Lockdown Method if you are qualified by a really advanced cyber attack. Cyber attacks like these are not directed at the regular individual most of them are condition-sponsored.

If you truly feel that you are in danger of a sophisticated cyber assault like this, then you can activate Lockdown Method to deter it.

Simply because Lockdown Method greatly restrictions your Iphone, most people will not ever have to have to use it. It tends to make lots of capabilities of your Apple iphone unavailable, which can influence your work, leisure, and interaction, so you shouldn’t activate Lockdown Method except you need to.

If you do not require Lockdown Mode, you can continue to improve your Iphone safety with other configurations and tweaks.

How Do You Convert On Lockdown Manner?

If you need to have to flip on Lockdown Mode, you can do so in your configurations. Head to Configurations > Privacy & Protection > Lockdown Mode. At the time in this article, faucet Transform On Lockdown Manner.

At the time you do this, Lockdown Mode will remain activated right up until you switch it off. Ahead of you activate it, you’ll get a record of all options that will be unavailable for the duration of Lockdown Mode. Be positive that you are all right with this right before turning it on.

Ahead of activating Lockdown Method, you also may possibly want to check your Apple iphone for malware.

When Must You Use Lockdown Method?

Unless you are a politician, movie star, or general public determine, you possibly won’t be the goal of a complex cyber assault. Therefore, you almost certainly won’t at any time want to use Lockdown Method.

If you are an typical Apple iphone user who cares about safety, rest assured that your Apple iphone is currently secure adequate for day-to-day use. Turning on Lockdown Manner will not deliver significantly further security for you, and it will limit various Iphone attributes that you may possibly rely on.